The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Remines convicted of child porn charges

Confroy recognized by Halifax Town Council, Bosiger named vice mayor

Police probe bomb threat at South Boston industry


(Not) playing it day-by-day

With covid numbers rising, decisions to play to be made on a week-by-week basis





Contests develop around Mecklenburg for town offices / March 14, 2018

Eight newcomers have thrown their hat into the ring for town office throughout Mecklenburg County, giving voters a choice when they head to the polls for May 1 municipal elections.

Voter Registrar Jason Corwin released the names of candidates who qualified this week for general election and special election contests.

In Boydton, five people are vying for three seats on council. Three first-time candidates — Kurt T. Irgens, Susan Lou Irgens and Paul “Ray” Cherry — and incumbents Ronny C. Worley and William H. “Bill” Coleman qualified for the ballot.

Incumbent councilman John M. “Johnny” Kirkland is giving up his seat, and instead will opt to run for Mayor. Current Mayor Thomas C. “Tommy” Coleman is not seeking re-election.

Chase City Town Council will have a new face with the retirement of former fire chief and longtime Council member Winthy Hatcher. Billy M. Mull Jr. and Barry L. Morgan are hoping to win their first bids for town office. They join incumbents Brenda Hatcher and James Bohannon on the ballot for Town Council. The top three vote getters among the four candidates will earn seats.

Incumbent Chase City Mayor Eddie Bratton is running unopposed.

Clarksville also will get a new member on council after incumbent Glenn Jurczyk chose not to run again. Barring a write-in challenger, the open seat will be filled by Garland D. “Danny” Pittard. Two incumbents, Christopher N. Clarke and Carolyn K. Hite, will round out the list of candidates for Clarksville Town Council, and Mayor Kevin S. Allgood also qualified to be on the ballot. All four Clarksville candidates are unopposed.

In La Crosse, Thomas C. “Tom” Tanner has no opposition in a special election. He is running to fill the unexpired term of former La Crosse Mayor James “Jay” Spence, who resigned in July. Also on the ballot in La Crosse are incumbent council members G. Bryant Thomas and Jeffrey D. Edmonds and two newcomers, William H. Gill and Rebecca Moretz Stevens. The four candidates will vie for three seats on council, one of which was previously held by Tanner.

In South Hill, incumbents members of council are running for re-election without opposition. On the ballot in Ward I is Lillie Feggins-Boone. In Ward II, the candidates are W.M. “Mike” Moody, G. Ben Taylor Jr., and C. Leroy Sasser.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


The Donte App, coming soon to iOS and Android