The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Halifax County school board calendar committee expands to 18

The Halifax County School Board’s calendar committee — responsible for setting the daily schedule from the first day of school to the last — is getting larger.

Banister River clean-up float slated Sept. 22

‘Make sure the dollars are there,’ supes urged

Chamber director voices support for raising school construction budget


Comets finish strong behind Franklin in district match





Five qualify for South Boston Council elections

South Boston News / March 08, 2018
With four candidates vying for three seats on South Boston Town Council — and a fifth candidate running unopposed in a special election — South Boston voters will have a choice in municipal elections on May 1.

Among the candidates on the regular Town Council ballot are three incumbents — Coleman Speece, W.R. “Bill” Snead and Winston Harrell — who are running for new four-year terms.

The fourth candidate is Sharon W. Harris, who currently serves on the town Planning Commission and is making her first run for public office.

Harris is project director of the Southern Piedmont Educational Opportunity Center, based at Danville Community College, which provides college and career guidance for students in southern Virginia.

South Boston also will hold a special election on May 1 to select a council member to serve out the unexpired term of the late Billy Clarke. The only candidate to qualify for the special election is Michael C. Byrd, who was appointed on an interim basis by Council to fill Clarke’s seat until the special election could be held.

Council tapped Byrd to serve last month.

While others expressed an interest in running for Council and picked up filing packets, Halifax County Registrar Heather Harding said only the four current members and Harris qualified for the ballot. The filing deadline passed this Tuesday, at 7 p.m.

The terms of Mayor Ed Owens and two other current members of Town Council — Tina Wyatt-Younger and Bob Hughes — extend through June 2020.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


Sports Coverage

See complete sports coverage for Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.