The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Jeep ride fund raiser to roll Saturday through Halifax County

Italian restaurant eyed for Halifax Farmers Market

Teacher, support staffer of the year named


Dawson breaks SBS silence

Although racing still a no go, drivers once again turning laps





Hughes, Elliott, Chandler win Town Council seats / May 19, 2020
Two challengers and an incumbent won their bids for South Boston Town Council on Tuesday as voter turnout soared from two years ago.

The winners in South Boston are Robert “Bob” Hughes, a Council incumbent, and Tommy Elliott and Joe Chandler, making their first runs for elective office. Hughes topped the six-candidate race for three Town Council seats with 501 votes, with Elliott garnering the next highest vote total, 473. Chandler took 439 votes to claim the third open seat.

Coming in fourth was incumbent Council member and vice-mayor Tina Wyatt-Younger with 404 votes. First-time candidate Harriett Claiborne collected 369 votes, and incumbent Council member Michael Byrd took 341 votes.

Running unopposed for another term as mayor, Ed Owens received 711 votes, with 39 write-ins. The total number of votes cast for mayor was almost two times the number of voters who participated in the 2018 Council election, 377.

Turnout at the polls was steady despite a driving rain much of the day in South Boston Tuesday. Absentee voting also was high, driven by encouragement by officials for voters to cast early ballots out of concern for the coronavirus pandemic.

In the Town of Scottsburg, turnout was light for the Council elections there. James Gordon, the only candidate on the ballot for mayor, collected 12 votes to become Scottsburg’s mayor-elect. Voters cast 11 write-in votes.

There were six candidates seeking five seats on Scottsburg Town Council. Russell Puckett Jr. was the top vote-getter with 22 votes, followed by Connie Glass with 21 vote and Robert Elliott and James Stoner with 20 votes each. Joe Allred III took the fifth and final open seat with 10 votes. Ronnie Myers Jr. received no votes.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


Classified Advertising

Buy and sell items in News & Record classifieds.