The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search


South Boston Council backs trail pathway

La Crosse educator named Region 8 Teacher of the Year

Howell enters running for honor of Virginia’s 2020 Teacher of the Year


Comets fall to Appomattox





More step forward to run for office / May 09, 2019

More candidates have stepped forward to run for local office with the filing deadline to have names added to the November ballot drawing near.

So far, a dozen candidates have qualified to run in the Nov. 5 general election. All four incumbents holding local constitutional office — Sheriff Fred Clark, Commonwealth’s Attorney Tracy Q. Martin, Treasurer Ruth Anne Oakes and Commissioner of Revenue Brenda Powell — have been certified for the ballot. All other candidates who have qualified for the fall ballot are seeking seats on the Board of Supervisors or School Board.

Only one race for constitutional office has a drawn a confirmed challenger: for Sheriff, with former deputy John Tanner running to unseat Clark.

Thomas Logan, who ran second behind Clark for sheriff in 2015, has picked up a candidate filing packet but has not indicated what office, if any, he may seek.

The only other constitutional office with the prospect of competition — so far — is Commissioner of Revenue. Local realtor Ken Buckley has expressed interest in challenging Powell for the job, picking up a filing packet, although Buckley has not yet been certified for the ballot.

Four candidates are confirmed as running for Board of Supervisors: Calvin “Ricky” Short in ED-1, where incumbent J.T. Davis currently presides; board chairman Dennis Witt in ED-4; board tiebreaker Jimmy Wade in ED-5, currently represented by Joey Rogers; and incumbent supervisor Garland Ricketts in ED-7.

Another board incumbent, ED-8 supervisor William Bryant Claiborne, has picked up a filing packet but is not yet certified for the ballot. Robert Smart also has picked up a packet to run for Board of Supervisors in Ed-5, but also is not certified.

Larry Roller has picked up a packet to run for tiebreaker of the eight-member Board of Supervisors.

For School Board, one district has two confirmed candidates: ED-1, where incumbent Orey Hill faces a challenge by Kathy Fraley.

In two other districts, competition could be looming. In ED-4, Jay Camp has picked up a filing packet, as has incumbent Joe Gasperini. Both are not yet certified for the ballot. In ED-7, Vince Newton has qualified to run for the seat now held by Monty Lowery. A second candidate, Keith McDowell, has picked up a packet but is not yet certified for the ballot.

In ED-5 and ED-8, respectively, trustee incumbents Freddie Edmunds and Walter Potts have picked up packets. As of yesterday, they had not qualified to have their names on the ballot.

Two prospective candidates have expressed interest in serving as Soil and Water directors: Larry Layman and Bruce Pearce.

The deadline to qualify for local office is Tuesday, June 11 at 7 p.m.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


Advertising Flyer

Find out how you can reach more customers by advertising with The News & Record and The Mecklenburg Sun -- in print and online.