The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

South Boston building updates, plans for assistant manager aired

Blue Ribbon Extraction is now Golden Piedmont Labs

Halifax County school board votes to let teachers bring their children to work


GOTR to empower girls through running, life skills

Signups under way for girls in grades 3-5






South Boston News
Members of the Mecklenburg County School Board held a special meeting Monday to organize the board for the coming year. Shown left to right are Gloria Smith, Brent Richey, Ricky Allgood, Dora Garner, Gavin Honeycutt, Glenn Edwards, Lindell Palmer, Rob Campbell and Wanda Bailey. / January 08, 2020
The Mecklenburg County School Board elected new leadership for 2020 as trustees gathered for their annual reorganization meeting Monday at the Central Office in Boydton.

It was the first meeting in which the board’s two newly elected members, Ricky Allgood and Gloria Smith, participated. Allgood defeated Kenny Johnson in the Nov. 5 election and Smith won her race to succeed former board chair Dale Sturdifen.

Gavin Honeycutt (ED-5) was elected chair on a 5-4 vote. Dora Garner (ED-7) was also nominated for the position of chair.

Honeycutt, who served as vice chair in 2019, was nominated by Wanda Bailey (ED-3) with Rob Campbell (ED-6) seconding the nomination. In addition to Bailey and Campbell, Honeycutt received votes from Brent Richey (ED-1) and Lindell Palmer (ED-4), as well as his own vote.

Garner was nominated by Glenn Edwards (ED-9), and Allgood (ED-8) seconded her nomination. In addition to her own vote, Garner received the support of Gloria Smith (ED-2).

After the close vote for board chair, trustees agreed unanimously to name Garner as vice chair. Also, Allgood was voted in to serve as parliamentarian.

Ahead of the vote for parliamentarian, Wanda Bailey — the last board member to hold the position; she resigned mid-year — said she would support Allgood’s election although she does not see the need for the board to name a parliamentarian. Bailey said it was incumbent on each board member to abide by the rules and conduct associated with the position of school trustee.

Edwards said he felt the board needs a parliamentarian “in case we act stupid.” Edwards said he wanted someone who would be responsible for ensuring the board conducts itself in accordance with parliamentary rules.

Other appointments approved Monday night included the of naming Paula Giammatteo and Sharon Shuttleworth as clerk and assistant clerk; assistant superintendent Abe Jeffers and finance director Christy Peffer as designees to sign documents in the absence of the superintendent; Jeffers as the designee to represent the school division when the superintendent is not available; and Garner and Smith as delegate and alternate, respectively, to represent Mecklenburg County Public Schools on the Regional Governor’s School board.

The schedule of School Board meetings was fixed for the coming calendar year. Meetings will take place on the third Monday of the month starting at 7 p.m. with exception of meetings in January, February and December. The January meeting will take place on Tuesday, Jan. 21; the February meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 18; and the December meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 15. All meetings are held in Boydton at the School Board Central Office, 175 Mayfield Drive.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


Advertising Flyer

Find out how you can reach more customers by advertising with The News & Record and The Mecklenburg Sun -- in print and online.