The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Rising Dan River shuts down U.S. 501 through Riverdale

Halifax County ‘dodged a bullet’ with storm

Light flooding, downed trees and power outages reported as Southside copes with heavy rainfall

Halifax County supes mull funding for fire departments, trail, road work

Tonight’s session will begin at 6:30 in the second floor meeting room of the Bethune Complex.


Bruised Comets seek turnaround

Halifax County High School varsity football can still enjoy a positive season, but the Comets will need a turnaround effort at Martinsville Friday.





South Boston Elementary’s Haven named Teacher of Year

South Boston News / May 27, 2013
The first-ever school division “Staff Appreciation Celebration” was just that— a fun-filled night of honors for teachers and staffers. The event attracted some 400 people, including School Board members and their spouses, administrators and school staff.

“This night is all about you and the important role you play in the life of our children,” said Executive Director of Administration Valdivia Marshall, who offered welcoming remarks for the event. “Thanks for your dedication and your hard work.”

Barbara A. Haven of South Boston Elementary was named the school division’s Teacher of the Year. Other teachers of the year at their respective schools were also recognized: Mary Beth Thompson of Cluster Springs and South Boston/Halifax Early Learning Centers; Suzanne Stevens of Clays Mill Elementary; Lisa D. Howell of Cluster Springs Elementary; Stephanie Wilmouth Adams of Meadville Elementary; Kristen Howell of Scottsburg Elementary; Joy R. Snyder of Sinai Elementary; Shannon T. Evans of Sydnor Jennings Elementary; Mary Beth E. Moore of Halifax County Middle School, and Gladys M. Townsend of Halifax County High School.

Twenty employees were honored on their retirements, including Joan Pointer Bowers, Supervisor of Alternative Education; Sylvia Briggs-Judkins, school nurse coordinator; Patricia C. Bradshaw, food clerk at the Central Office; Eileen R. Centuolo, occupational therapist at Clays Mill Elementary School; Kenneth A. Cochran, alternative ed teacher; Patsy L. Cole of the Clays Mill cafeteria; John W. Courtney, assistant principal at Halifax County Middle School; Carol R. Crawley, Central Office secretary; Jane Fisher, Meadville Elementary cafeteria manager; Virginia Fisher, lab manager at Sydnor Jennings; Deborah J. Griles, assistant principal at Halifax County High School; Calvin T. Hughes, custodian at Halifax County High School; Joyce C. Lowery, of the Middle School cafeteria; Jane H. Moore, Clays Mill teacher; Nancy W. Moorefield, secretary at Meadville Elementary; Ista R. Palmer, Halifax County High School teacher; Kathleen Parker, Pre-K teacher at Sinai; Guereva Sutphin, PreK paraprofessional at Meadville; Amy A. Throckmorton, Central Office Human Resources secretary; and DeLois Wilkins, paraprofessional at Halifax County High School.

Others were honored for their years of service with Sallie F. Samuel having the longest term of service — 47 years as a bus driver.

Four others were recognized for their 40-45 years of service including Julia S. Berkley, Shirley C. Irby, Elsie R. Williams and John O. Woody.

Honored for 35-39 years of service to the school system were Joan Pointer Bowers, Delores C. Carden, Margaret S. Covington, Mary Lois Davis, Thelma VeaArthur Glass, Vicki Guthrie, Donna H. Henderson, Robin C. Mahan, Valdivia T. Marshall, Katherine S. Martin, Marion Satterfield and Mary Traynham.

Also recognized were those with 30-34 years of service: Woody K. Bane, Bonnie W. Bowen, Kathy D. Bowen, Linda Carter Bowen, Elizabeth H. Clement, Mary Jane Cole, Betty H. Coleman, Adell C. Conner, Carol R. Crawley, Shirley Crews, Pamela M. Eakes, Beatrice B. Fitzgerald, Al Garrett, Barbara Haven, Frieda M. Henry, Rebecca Howerton, Marva H. Johnson, Elizabeth G. Layne, Suzan Allen Maxwell, Deborah Medley, Donna C. Moorefield, Denise M. Morris, Teresa M. Newbill, Annette Lutz Oakes, Linda Coleman Owen, Doris Petty, Freda Hendricks Powell, Robin C. Reeves, Wanda J. Sutphin, Bonita M. Taylor, Joyce A. Townes, Lydia R. Trickey, Mamie Tuck, Althea M. Williams, Barbara B. Williams, Wanda G. Williamson and Barbara Edmunds Womack.

Special entertainment for the evening was provided by David Duffer and his dance group.

Tell-a-Friend | Submit a Comment


Sports Coverage

See complete sports coverage for Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.