The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Caution urged for Prom Night

Emergency services chief resigns post

Four days, three fatal crashes

A Clarksville teen died Friday in Buffalo Junction wreck, the first of three deadly car crashes in Mecklenburg County in the past week.


Double play





SBS recognizes champions

South Boston News
Four division champions were honored at the annual South Boston Speedway awards ceremony and reception Saturday. From left, NASCAR Whelen late model stock division champion Lee Pulliam, who’s also the two-time national champion for late model; Danny Willis Jr., the 2013 limited sportsman division champ at SBS, Joe Allred III champion of the Budweiser Pure Stock division and Modified champion Tanner Rumburg. (James Price photo) / January 13, 2014
Lee Pulliam, NASCAR’s two-time national champion on the Whelen All-American Series, has a new assignment for the 2014 season.

Pulliam, honored Saturday night as the 2013 track champion at South Boston Speedway, said he will be running the developmental NASCAR K&N Pro Series East circuit on a part-time basis.

Pulliam said he plans to run the larger venues on the K&N circuit, including Dover, Richmond, Bristol and Iowa. He also plans to run some form of racing every week, including the late model circuit when he’s not tied down to the K&N series.

Pulliam was honored as the 2013 NASCAR track champion Saturday night.

Pulliam and three other track champions were the leaders in hauling away an estimated $46,000 of cash and prizes during the annual awards banquet. Pulliam was the laps leader and overall wins award winner in late model as his achievements were honored at the annual dinner, as well as the recipient of the most popular driver overall.

Other champions and drivers were honored.

Austin Thaxton received special recognition for his second place finish in the late model division. Bobby McCarty was third in the late model points’ race.

McCarty, who won the limited sportsman crown in 2012, was the late model rookie of the year award winner this past season.

Danny Willis Jr. won his second title in the past three years in the division. Willis gave a heartfelt speech of appreciation upon receiving his award, thanking his late father, Danny Willis Sr., for the inspiration he provided.

Garrett Bunch was the second place finisher in limited sportsman and also won rookie of the year recognition.

Joe Allred III celebrated his third title in Pure Stock, and also collected special awards for most poles, most wins and most laps led.

Stuart Crews finished second in the division and Austin Milam was third in the points. Milam was also named rookie of the year in the division.

Tanner Rumburg also took home the trophy hardwear as the SBS Modified division. Jimmy Humblet was second and Chris Johnson third in this division.

Longtime SBS veteran Garland Ricketts was also honored as the 2013 Legendary flatheads division champion.

South Boston Speedway’s season starts March 15 with the late model show.

The limiteds and pure stockers will also kick off their season.

Sports Coverage

See complete sports coverage for Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.