The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Mecklenburg school board eyes $3.6 million for ongoing maintenance

Even with construction of new school, money will be needed for elementary schools, empty buildings by 2021


After mid-air engine trouble, plane touches down safely

Boydton gets first look at plans for sewer pump station


Comets one game away from state tournament





Track champions crowned as SBS concludes season / September 18, 2017

Peyton Sellers, Colin Garrett, Johnny Layne and Tyler Crute etched their names in the record books at South Boston Speedway Saturday night.

Sellers won his third career track title in the track’s feature division, despite dropping out of the race late due to mechanical issues in the 150-lapper.

Philip Morris capped an excellent season with a dominating performance for his seventh win in late model.

Garrett became a first time division champion with a strong run in the limited sportsman season finale Saturday, collecting the final checkered flag of the campaign.

Layne and Crute emerged as season champions for the track’s Pure Stock and Hornet divisions, respectively.

Sellers had clinched the title unofficially after the previous late model race in August. He officially celebrated the track’s 2017 NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division championship with a very happy group of family and friends.

Sellers’ previous track titles came in 2005 and 2014.

Sellers ran into some typical short track trouble late, after making a strong early challenge with Morris.

He finished 12th after being sidelined in the wake of hard contact with the car driven by Josh Oakley as the veterans scrapped for second place.

Morris won the 100-lap Late Model Stock Car Division race by a big margin, speeding across the finish line 5.101 seconds ahead of runner-up Layne Riggs. Morris took the lead from Sellers on the 15th lap and led the rest of the way.

Stacy Puryear, Oakley and Brandon Comer rounded out the top five finishers in the race.

Morris sailed to a 5.101-second margin of victory in the late model show.

Only six drivers finished on the lead lap. Morris averaged 73.403 mph in winning the race.

Morris said the race win was not easy.

“I tried to get into a comfortable pace to save the tires, but the car didn’t like that. I had to pretty much run it wide open to make it turn,” said Morris.

“You know how hard I’ve tried for a couple of years and always come up short on these finales, on these big races, on these fireworks races,” said Morris.

“This year, we didn’t have to come up second and have to make excuses. All we had to do was come over and get our picture made and thank all the people who made it possible,” said Morris.

Classified Advertising

Buy and sell items in News & Record classifieds.