The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Cloudy skies, but cheery outlook for Winefest

Boydton Council honors star wrestler

Cometbots earn trip to Worlds

Team leaves for Detroit April 23. Funds being raised to finance trip


Comets sweep South Carolina trip





Sellers, Morris split late model races at SBS Saturday

Competition is hot, stiff at SBS Saturday

LATE MODEL ACTION - Eventual race winner Deac McCaskill (08) and Philip Morris (26) battle for track position at SBS Satursay night. (Turn 1 photo)
The weather was hot, but the competition was hotter Saturday night at the South Boston Speedway. Deac McCaskill of Raleigh,held off a late charge by Wayne Ramsey of Amhearst, to win the USG night 150-lap Late Model Stock Car race in the Whelen All American Series.

Limited action even hotter

After fans had just witnessed a highly contested late model race, they didn’t realize that the best was yet to come in the Saturday night racing program at South Boston Speedway.

SBS notebook

Two-time NASCAR national champion Philip Morris, expected to return to South Boston Speedway Saturday night, has a serious burst of momentum to start the season. Morris made it 4-for-4 Saturday night, as in four wins in four starts, in NASCAR Whelen short track late model action at Motor Mile Speedway. And Morris had to go with a borrowed Ford engine from Performance Counts in Farmville in that win. Morris won from the pole, after edging Frank Deiny Jr. for the top starting spot.

Morris wins LMCS race at SBS

SBS WINNER - Philip Morris (left) won the NASCAR late model feature race at South Boston Speedway Saturday night. With him is Miss South Boston Speedway 2009, Megan Seay. (Danny Lamberth photo)
Defending NASCAR national champion Phillip Morris returned to South Boston Speedway Saturday night to claim an impressive win in the 150 lap Late Model Stock Car feature. Morris of Ruckersville, started from the pole, but lost the lead to Deac McCaslill of Raleigh on the first lap when McCaskill got around him to move out front.

Falk leads SBS points race

Philip Morris, Justin Johnson and Nick Smith have swiped the headlines through the opening three NASCAR Whelen All American Late Model Stock Car Division races at South Boston Speedway, but all three are currently chasing C.E. Falk III and Dustin Storm in the early stages of the 2009 points battle.

Seuss takes modified race at SBS Saturday

Andy Seuss
They were loud and they were fast. They circled the track 150 times in only 49 minutes and fans saw what they came to see. Andy Seuss of Hampstead, N.J. slipped around George Brunnhoelzl III of West Babylon, N.Y. on the 87th lap and held on the rest of the way to win the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified 150 Saturday night at South Boston Speedway.

Johnson pulls away for win at Martinsville

On the 25th anniversary of Rick Hendrick’s first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series win as a car owner, it was more of the same for Hendrick and Jimmie Johnson. An aggressive pass of Denny Hamlin on Lap 485 of the Goody’s Fast Pain Relief 500 gave Johnson the lead Sunday at Martinsville Speedway, and he pulled away to beat Hamlin by .774 seconds. The victory was Johnson’s first of the season and the 41st of his career; he now has six wins at Martinsville—five in the past six races. It was Hendrick’s 18th win at the .526-mile track.

Ward Burton Wildlife Foundation, NASCAR Foundation partner for NASCAR Day

The NASCAR Foundation is proud to announce its partnership with the Ward Burton Wildlife Foundation (WBWF) for NASCAR Day 2009. NASCAR Day is an annual celebration of the NASCAR spirit and the sixth-annual observance will be held this year on Friday, May 15. NASCAR fans, corporations, schools and organizations across the country are encouraged to donate $5 and all participants will receive a collectible 2009 NASCAR Day lapel pin for their donation.

Morris takes LMS win as speedway roars back to life

2008 Limited Sportsman Division Champion Lee Pulliam (No. 3) gets tangled up with late model regular Ronald Hill (No. 74) on lap 56 during the 150 lap feature event. (Danny Lamberth photo)

• Page 97 of 100 pages « First  <  95 96 97 98 99 >  Last »

Sports Coverage

See complete sports coverage for Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.