The News & Record
South Boston News & Record
and Mecklenburg Sun
Home   •   News   •   Sports   •   Classifieds   •   Community   •   Health   •   Entertainment   •   Obituaries   •   Opinions   •   Weather
Advertising | Contact | Register
Advanced Search

Still hoping for a break in the case

12 years after disappearance of Hattie Gertrude Brown, police issue appeal for info to bring closure to her family

Classes that will keep you up at nights

Survey of Horror course offered through higher education center

22-year-old Chase City man slain in South Boston

A 22-year-old Chase City man was slain early Thursday morning while sitting in a four-door Ford on Gygax Avenue in South Boston.


Comets avenge season’s only loss

Baseball team beats Tunstall 1-0 on road





Thaxton: in right place at right time / July 30, 2018
Austin Thaxton found himself in the right place at the right time and came away with his first win of the season in Saturday night’s late model race at South Boston Speedway.

In earning his first victory of the season at SBS, Thaxton became the fourth different driver to visit Victory Lane at South Boston Speedway this season. The win equaled the one win Thaxton earned last season at South Boston.

Thaxton pulled away from his challengers after the final restart with eight laps to go and was never seriously challenged in the closing laps.

Thomas Scott finished second, .668-second behind Thaxton, with Danny Willis Jr. defending track champion Peyton Sellers and Raymond Pittman III of rounding out the top five finishers.

The lead proved not to be the best place to be for much of the race. Track and NASCAR national point Leader Philip Morris and Sellers tangled on lap 40 while battling for the lead. Morris spun again on lap 62 while battling Mike Jones for the top spot.

Jones, who was returning to action with a new car after having had his car destroyed in a violent crash and subsequent fire in a June 16 race at South Boston Speedway, led on four different occasions. His bid for his first late model win ended in a crash with Jason Barnes as they were battling for the lead with 13 laps to go.

Scott inherited the lead, only to lose it to Thaxton on the final restart.

The race was a highly competitive one with seven lead changes among five different drivers.

Crews Claims Fifth Limited Sportsman Win Of Season

Trey Crews wrestled took control after the race’s final restart with 23 laps to go and held off Jacob Borst to win Saturday night’s 50-lap limited sportsman race.

Crews’ margin of victory over Borst in scoring his fifth win of the season was 1.259 second.

Bob Davis, Ross “Boo Boo” Dalton and Brandon Jones rounded out the top five finishers.

The race was a four-car battle between Crews, Borst, Dalton and Jones, with Crews getting the upper hand after Jones and Dalton tangled on lap 27 while battling for the lead.

Milam, Shelton Split Wins In Pure Stock Doubleheader

Jarrett Milam and Daniel Shelton split wins in Saturday night’s twin 15-lap races for the pure stock division.

Milam won the first race to score his first win of the season, edging Bruce Mayo by .271-second to earn the win. Defending division champion Johnny Layne finished third with Harrison Walker and Jordan Pickrel rounding out the top five finishers.

Shelton started third in the second race, took the lead on the fourth lap, and finished almost one second ahead of Layne in earning his second victory of the season. Milam, Pickrel and Mayo completed the top five finishers.

Jarrell Continues Domination Of Hornets

Cameron Jarrell continued his domination of the hornets division, starting on the back row of the field and driving to victory in Saturday night’s 15-lap race.

Jarrell got a good jump on the final restart of the race with three laps to go and edged defending division champion Tyler Crute for the win. Kevin Currin finished third.

Holdren Remains Perfect In Mod-4 Division

Dennis Holdren got a solid start on the race’s final start with three laps to go and edged Jesse Yopp by .589second to win Saturday night’s 30-lap Mod-4 Division race.

Holdren has won all three of the Mod-4 races held at South Boston this season.

Cory Dunn, Haley Holdren and Chad Asberry rounded out the top five finishers.

Next Race At SBS

One of South Boston Speedway’s bigger events of the season is coming up as racing returns Saturday, Aug. 11 with the running of the Davenport Energy PASS Super Late Model 150 racing program.

The stars and cars of the PASS South Super Late Model series will make their only visit of the season to South Boston Speedway to compete in a 150-lap race. Twin 75-lap races for the late model competitors will share the spotlight.

Rounding out the night’s action are a 15-lap race for hornets competitors, and a 25-lap race for the regional touring Southern Ground Pounders series.

Registration and pit gates open at 12:30 p.m., practice runs from 2-4 p.m. Grandstand gates will open at 4:30 p.m. and qualifying starts at 5 p.m. A Fan Appreciation event will be held at trackside at 6 p.m. The first race gets the green flag at 7 p.m.

Sports Coverage

See complete sports coverage for Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.